Silly Bandz

Does your child’s wrist look like this?


Have you seen kids everywhere walking around with what look like colorful rubber bands around their wrists?

Apparently Zhu-Zhu Pets are out and Silly Bandz are in! Well I’m not  sure that zhu-zhu pets are really “out” but I know I have seen WAY MORE kids wearing silly bandz than carrying around zhu-zhu pets. I’m just going to go ahead and assume that silly bandz are the latest thing.

That being said I wanted to pass on a cool idea I heard from Gina Holcomb to all of you! Her son and neice are VERY into these silly bandz so she got wise and began taking their silly bandz and wearing them on her wrists when they whined or talked back. I thought this was such a cool idea because earning those silly bandz back is a big deal to them! Props to Gina for being a creative Mom!!

We’re studying patience in Club 252 and in order to practice our patience I told the kids that we have a surprise for them at the end of the series but they have to be “patient” in order to receive it. The surprise is going to be that we will have lots of silly bandz and they can each grab a few. I would have shown up to Club 252 wearing these silly bandz just to push their patience a little bit but haven’t been able to find them yet. Remember, I said they were the newest thing and therefore hard to find in stores. So they don’t know what the surprise is yet, don’t ruin it for us 🙂 But once they are patient and get their small gift you can use that gift to help them remember to behave and follow the rules of your home, just like Mrs. Gina Holcomb 🙂

1 Comment

  1. She sure is a great mom and Aunt! We love her! Good article and the idea really works too. They want to wear those bands and the more the better, so getting them taken away is NOT good 😉

    Thanks for the fun article and all that the Crossroads Kids’ team does for our kids each week!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment